Skip to content

Summerland voters have 20 names on ballot

Candidates are declared for mayor, councillor and school trustee roles
On Oct. 15, voters in Summerland will choose a mayor, six municipal councillors and two school board trustees. (Summerland Review file photo)

A total of 20 names will be on the ballot when Summerland voters select their mayor, six councillors and two school trustees in October.

The local government election will be held on Saturday, Oct. 15. There are two nominees for mayor, 13 for the six councillor roles and five for the two school trustee positions.

READ ALSO: Summerland to vote in October

READ ALSO: Summerland candidate forum planned for Sept. 20


• Doug Holmes

• Chuck Pinnell


• Richard Barkwill

• Brad Besler

• Adrienne Betts

• Peter Bognar

• Toni Boot

• Doug Loepp

• Blair Parker

• Doug Patan

• Janet Peake

• Nick Redding

• Mark Smed

• Erin Trainer

• Martin (Marty) Van Alphen

School trustee

• Maureen Harrington

• Erin Hayman

• Deborah (Debbie) Patterson

• Dave Stathers

• Linda Van Alphen

On the past municipal council, Barkwill, Holmes, Patan, Trainer and Marty Van Alphen all served as councillors, while Boot was the mayor. On the school board, Stathers and Linda Van Alphen were the two Summerland trustees.

To report a typo, email:

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

John Arendt

About the Author: John Arendt

John Arendt has worked as a journalist for more than 30 years. He has a Bachelor of Applied Arts in Journalism degree from Ryerson Polytechnical Institute.
Read more