Summerland hosts bonspiel for young curlers

Youth teams from Central and South Okanagan participated in event on Saturday

The annual Summerland Junior Curling Bonspiel, sponsored by Ice Halo, was held on Saturday with 48 curlers participating.

Curlers from Summerland, Penticton, and Kelowna participated. This year’s event included four competitive teams and eight younger teams.

The $100 prize for top competitive team was won by Kelowna team: Eli Wielgosz, Connor Applegate, Brandon Sedmak and Desmond John.

RELATED: Summerland Curling Club season begins Oct. 9

RELATED: Canadian rink looks to defend world junior curling titles at home

Gold medals for younger curlers were won by Penticton team: Brad Kuechle, Sam Babkiff, Ryland Sawyer and Liam Ireland and Kelowna team Zach Wielgosz, Dominic Alves, Noah Wielgosz and Owen Jaeger.

Competitive curlers from Summerland were Caleb Aitcheson, 14; Alexandra Widdis, 12; Jack Osborne, 14; Owen Jaeger, six; Hika McHardy, eight; Kyra Pastulovic, nine, Andres Escudero, 14 and Isabel Pastulovic, 12.

Summerland Junior Curling Club meets Wednesdays after school from mid-October to mid-March and is open to all students.

To report a typo, email:

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Just Posted

Thrash Wrestling “mans up” for the Testicular Fortitude show

Silas “The Last Real Man” Young enters the ring on April 27

Update: Highway 3 reopened following rockslide near Keremeos

The slide occurred Friday March 22, at about 8 p.m. between Red Bridge and Standing Rock

Rock slide forces rural Keremeos residents to leave their homes

Witness describes boulders bigger than her car

BREAKING: Highway 3 near Keremeos closed due to rockslide

Highway 3 just west of Keremeos is closed as of 8:44 p.m.… Continue reading

UPDATE: Destructive blaze in West Kelowna

A unit of a condo complex is on fire in West Kelowna

Sparks fly as SUV speeds down wrong side of Highway 1 trying to flee RCMP

Captured on video, the vehicle headed westbound against oncoming traffic before crashing

Calgary captain has 3 points as Flames torch Canucks 3-1

Giordano leads way as Alberta side cracks 100-point plateau

Okanagan woman launches sewing studio

“I know there’s a lot of people up and down the valley that would love to sew.”

1,300 cruise ship passengers rescued by helicopter amid storm off Norway’s coast

Rescue teams with helicopters and boats were sent to evacuate the cruise ship under extremely difficult circumstances

Former Okanagan teen found safe after disappearing from YVR airport

Ethan Burnett, 14, was found safe in Kelowna on March 22

B.C. university to offer first graduate program on mindfulness in Canada

University of the Fraser Valley says the mostly-online program focuses on self-care and well being

Province announces $18.6 million for B.C. Search and Rescue

The funding, spread over three years, to pay for operations, equipment, and training

Vernon road closed again following landslide

The road that was reopened Thursday morning was closed again Friday following geotechnical engineer report.

Late-season wave of the flu makes its round in B.C.

BC Centre for Disease Control reported 50 per cent jump in flu cases in first weeks of March

Most Read