Water board directors named

The Okanagan Basin Water Board has a new board of directors.

The Okanagan Basin Water Board has a new board.

From the Regional District of Okanagan Similkameen, the directors are Osoyoos Mayor Stu Wells, Rural Area Director Tom Siddon and Rural Area Director Michael Brydon. From the Regional District of Central Okanagan, the appointees are West Kelowna Mayor Doug Findlator, Peachland Mayor Keith Fielding and Kelowna Coun. Gerry Zimmerman. From the Regional District of North Okanagan, the appointees are Rural Area Dir. Rick Fairbairn, Coldstream Coun. Doug Dirk and Vernon Coun. Juliette Cunningham.

Directors Toby Pike representing the Water Supply Association of B.C., Bernie Bauer of the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council – technical advisory body to the OBWB Board of Directors and James Pepper of the Okanagan Nation Alliance will also continue to serve on the board.

The Water Board acknowledges those board members not returning and thanks them for their commitment to Okanagan water issues while serving as directors.  This includes Lake Country Mayor James Baker, and former councillors Buffy Baumbrough of Vernon, Gordon Clark of Summerland and Graeme James of Kelowna.


Just Posted

UPDATE: Tsunami warning cancelled for coastal British Columbia

Warning issued following 7.9 earthquake off Kodiak, AK

Young PIB man skips jail time for grad party assault

Aaron Jack-Kroeger was sentenced to a 15-month conditional sentence in Penticton’s courthouse

Vernon Search & Rescue find lost snowmobiler

Male, 19, went missing in Hunter’s Range area near Enderby

New development in missing plane near Revelstoke

The family of Ashley Bourgeault believe they have found a new clue

Honesty turns to harsher jail sentence for Penticton man

Jakob Holmes kicked a cop in the face while she was on the ground after she attempted to arrest him

Testing the Google Arts & Culture app

Going face to face with art

Slayer adds Penticton to North American tour

Slayer adds the South Okanagan Events Centre as a stop on their last tour

‘Shape of Water’ producer, Christopher Plummer among Canadian Oscar nominees

Guillermo del Toro film about merman romance earns 13 nominations

Vancouver Canucks confirm participation in NHL Young Stars

Canucks confirmed participation, at least for this year, in the NHL Young Stars event in Penticton

Canada, TPP agrees to revised deal without the United States

Canada and the remaining members of the Trans-Pacific Partnership have agreed to a revised trade agreement

Tsunami warnings 101: Canada

Here are some things to know about tsunami alerts in Canada and how they work

Rogers Media cuts ties with Vice Canada

Rogers Media and Vice Canada are ending their three-year-old partnership, pulling Viceland TV channel off the air

Snowfall warnings for mountain passes

Lots of snow expected to fall today.

Most Read