Nominees announced

The initial list of nominees for the 78th annual Business and Community Awards Gala has been announced.

The initial list of nominees for the 78th annual Business and Community Awards Gala has been announced.

The gala is organized by the Summerland Chamber of Commerce to recognize those who have helped move the community and economic vision forward. On Feb. 1, two finalists will be chosen for each category.

From Feb. 3 to 18, the business community will vote electronically to determine the winner. Christine Petkau, executive director of the Summerland Chamber, said the chamber received more nominations than in past years.

“The Chamber Board is very pleased with the level of participation in the nomination process this year from both the business community and the general public,” she said.

“The 59 nominations of businesses, organizations and individuals represent a 35 per cent increase over last year’s nominations.”

The winner of the Citizen/Volunteer of the Year Award is selected by a public vote.

Business of the Year: Bead Trails, Dirty Laundry Vineyard, Interior Ink Works, Sumac Ridge Estate Winery, Summerland Dental Centre, SWC General Contracting, The Suburban Princess, True Grain Bread, What the Fungus.

Rising Star: Artisans of the Okanagan, Back Door Winery, Beauty Box Studio Inc., Dominion Cider Co., Drew’s Kitchen, Essential Fire Protection Ltd., Esthetics by Nicole, Maximus Wine Consulting, Summerland Sunday Market, Sing Your Song Studios, Synergy Home Inspections, Tammy’s Brush 2 Canvas, Maximus Vineyard Management.

Sustainability Leader: Friends of Summerland Ornamental Gardens, Okanagan Crush Pad Winery, Strachan Consulting, SummerGate Winery, What the Fungus.

Technology and Innovation: Cordillera Consulting, ElectroMotion Energy, What the Fungus.

Professional Services Excellence: Beauty and the Brit, Chantelle Meriam – Edward Jones, Interior Ink Works, Morpheus Graphix and Publications, Terry Sedawie — RBC Royal Bank, Mike Stohler – Remax Orchard Country, Sue Eden – Royal LePage Parkside Realty, Summerland Dental Centre, Tones Hair Design.

Trade Services Excellence: Deputy Diesel Performance, GPH Mechanical, Summerland Glass and Mirror, Summerland Tirecraft Auto Centre.

Manufacturing/Industrial Excellence: Okanagan Vinegar Brewery, Lone Tree Coffee.

Retail Excellence Award: Cherry Tree Quilts, Summerland Home Hardware, The Suburban Princess, Summerland Builders Mart, Your Dollar Store With More.

Tourism and Hospitality Excellence: Kettle Valley Steam Railway, Mike West of Okanagan Crush Pad Winery, TH Wines.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Jess Repetowski – Signwave Signs, Corrine Inman – Morpheus Graphix and Publications, Carrie Mayes – Peanuts and Pumpkins Kids Shop.

Citizen/Volunteer of the Year: Paul Barber and Charlotte Burley, Dave and Alison Carleton, Sue Eden, Karen Hooper, Ayman Kanaan, Maryana (Mirjana) Komljenovic, Mary Trainer, Ellen Walker-Matthews, Denise Whittaker, Ingrid Wuensche.

In addition to these awards, the Mayor’s Award of Excellence is given at the mayor’s discretion to a local organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the community.

The gala will be held Saturday, Feb. 27 at the Summerland Waterfront Resort. Local Lounge Grille will cater the event. Tickets are available at the Summerland Chamber of Commerce.