Area D split approved

Area D split approved

The province has approved the split of Area D in time to be enacted at the next election on Oct. 15

  • May. 1, 2018 2:17 p.m.

There will be 19 directors around the table making decisions in the Regional District Okanagan-Similkameen.

The splitting of Electoral Area D into two separate areas was approved by the Lieutenant Governor recently, a release from the RDOS stated.

The division comes into effect this October during election time. Residents will get their first chance to vote for the new Area I director on October 20.

The new electoral Area I includes the communities on the west side of Skaha Lake — Kaleden, Twin Lakes, St. Andrews, Marron Valley and Apex.

Area D will include those communities on the east side of Skaha Lake — Okanagan Falls, Skaha Estates, Heritage Hills, Upper Carmi and Vaseux Lake.

“The existing Area D is made up of a number of unique communities and is currently the largest RDOS electoral area in terms of population, which can make it a challenge for one electoral area director to represent all of the area at the RDOS board,” the release stated. “Now, with the creation of two electoral areas, the electoral directors will have increased capacity to attend meetings across the area and will be able to better understand and represent the views of the residents and property owners.”

If directors choose to use Advisory Planning Commission groups the members will need to be established.

The gas tax funding Area D receives will be split accordingly after the election to help with infrastructure costs.

For more information contact Christy Malden, manager of legislative services, at or by phone at 250-492-0237.