Christy Lovig is training for the NYC Marathon in November 2019. Photo: Christy Lovig

Christy Lovig is training for the NYC Marathon in November 2019. Photo: Christy Lovig

Life is a marathon: Kelowna athlete, lawyer shares insights to success

Christy Lovig is a running coach, marathon runner, and local lawyer

Kelowna’s Christy Lovig doesn’t think much of the idea of “balance.” As a full-time lawyer, a running coach, and a professional marathon runner, one would think that balance would be something Lovig would find necessary.

“It’s a myth that we sell people,” Lovig said. “For me, the reality is that it’s more about being comfortable with a certain level of imbalance.”

It’s the same attitude that has served Lovig so well in her experiences in both the business world and in her marathon world; ever since her dad said, “everything is a race for Christy,” she’s embraced the imbalance of new challenges.

RELATED: UBC Okanagan adds Coquitlam guard to 2019 class

Lovig is soon to be welcomed as a speaker at the Women In Business in Kelowna at the end of February, and has been accepted to compete at the New York City Marathon, where only 50 women get to race, in November 2019. Lovig said she always loves sharing her experiences.

“I loved when I was asked to speak because I got to share what it’s like to be a professional lawyer and also an athlete. I love sharing my passions, and speaking beyond things other than business,” said Lovig.

“Everybody has their little stories about challenges they’ve faced along the way,” said Lovig on her experiences of being a woman in business. “I’ve been fortunate. I’ve had fantastic female role models in my life like my grandmother, and I was raised in an environment where it never occurred to me that I couldn’t do something because I was a woman.”

She’s moving on to her fifth of the six major marathons with her acceptance to the NYC Marathon and has been using her running to keep her sane.

“My lives coexist so much, that without my running, there would be no Christy the lawyer. It’s a necessity for me to handle all the aspects of my life,” she said. She takes her passion seriously, but there’s no doubt that she often holds back the levels of excitement when it comes to that passion.

“It’s going to be so cool running through the four Burrows (of NYC) and celebrating with the best athletes,” she said. “It may not be my personal best, the challenges are good. Running with 55,000 people with challenging size and weather.”

RELATED: Kelowna mom to be remembered with candlelit restorative yoga session

Lovig’s running has also helped her implement herself into the community via coaching. She’s been training Kelowna runners in preparation for all types of runs, including the Vancouver Sun Run, for the past seven years.

“We have such a great and unique community in Kelowna. It’s exhilarating to be a part of other peoples’ journey, and cheering a fellow runner as they cross the finish line,” Lovig said. “I’m supporting our communities in my work, and that’s important to me.”

Being in the best shape of her life, and both working in her desired field and running as much as she possibly can puts a smile on her face as she not only represents Canada in her work and at her marathons, but also Kelowna. She’s long been happy with the life she has.

“It’s not always going to be this way for me, but I’m going somewhere and I’m excited about that,” Lovig said. “I can put up with the imbalance.”

Lovig calls it “imbalance” — but she accepts every challenge that comes across her path. Whether it’s in business or in fitness, Lovig has come to recognize and accept those loving words of her father, as she’s embraced facing everything like it’s a marathon.

To report a typo, email:
newstips@kelownacapnews.com
.


@KelownaCapNews
newstips@kelownacapnews.com

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

City of Kelownarunning

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

A dose of COVID-19 vaccine is prepared at a vaccination clinic in Montreal’s Olympic Stadium on Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Paul Chiasson
39 new cases of COVID-19 in Interior Health region

The total number of cases in the region since the pandemic began is now at 7,334

Summerland’s municipal council will proceed with a four per cent property tax increase this year, but the deadlines for property tax payment have been extended. (John Arendt - Summerland Review)
Summerland councillor’s letter to media draws disappointment from colleagues

Statements about solar project did not violate ethical or conduct standards

Send your letter to the editor via email to news@summerlandreview.com. Please included your first and last name, address, and phone number.
LETTER: Options available for medical care

Telephone and online methods allow people to contact doctors

Jaimee Peters photo of a Willow Midwives helping with a birth. Willow is closing its doors March 31 because of a shortage of midwives. (Contributed)
Petition to save South Okanagan’s only midwife clinic nears 3,000 signatures

After 12 years, Willow Community Midwives has to close its doors due to a shortage of midwives

Calls for potential overdoses in B.C. spiked in 2020, especially in the Okanagan - Shuswap. Pictured above is a BCEHS re-enactment of paramedics attending an overdose. (BCHES photo)
UBCO program increases drug checking availability in Kelowna, Penticton, Vernon

January 2021 data shows of 95 opioid samples tested across Interior Health, 93 contained fentanyl

NorKam secondary student Karis Wilson in the outfit that got her sent home from school on Feb. 23, 2021
Black Press Media Weekly Roundup: Top headlines this week

Here are the stories that made waves in the Okanagan-Shuswap

Staff from the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre, passersby, RCMP and Nanaimo Fire Rescue carried a sick 300-kilogram steller sea lion up the steep bluff at Invermere Beach in north Nanaimo in an attempt to save the animal’s life Thursday. (Photo courtesy Marine Mammal Rescue Centre)
300-kilogram sea lion muscled up from B.C. beach in rescue attempt

Animal dies despite efforts of Nanaimo marine mammal rescue team, emergency personnel and bystanders

Gina Adams as she works on her latest piece titled ‘Undying Love’. (Submitted photo)
‘Toothless’ the kitty inspires B.C. wood carver to break out the chainsaw

Inspired by plight of a toothless cat, Gina Adams offers proceeds from her artwork to help animals

B.C. Finance Minister Selina Robinson presents bill to delay B.C.’s budget as late as April 30, and allow further spending before that, B.C. legislature, Dec. 8, 2020. (Hansard TV)
How big is B.C.’s COVID-19 deficit? We’ll find out April 20

More borrowing expected as pandemic enters second year

The first of 11 Dash 8 Q400 aircraft's have arrived in Abbotsford. Conair Group Inc. will soon transform them into firefighting airtankers. (Submitted)
Abbotsford’s Conair begins airtanker transformation

Aerial firefighting company creating Q400AT airtanker in advance of local forest fire season

Arrow Lakes Caribou Society said the new caribou pen near the Nakusp Hotsprings is close to completion. (Submitted)
Maternity caribou pen near Nakusp inches closer to fruition

While Nakusp recently approved the project’s lease, caribou captures are delayed due to COVID-19

BC Housing has proposed that the emergency winter shelter at Victory Church at 352 Winnipeg Street be extended as a shelter until March 31, 2022. It was originally intended to be open until April 1, 2021. (Jesse Day - Western News)
One more year of ‘temporary’ homeless shelter in Penticton?

BC Housing has applied to extend Victory Church as a shelter for those experiencing homelessness

The Canada Revenue Agency says there were 32 tax fraud convictions across the country between April 2019 and March 2020. (Pixabay)
Vancouver man sentenced to 29 months, fined $645K for tax evasion, forgery

Michael Sholz reportedly forged documents to support ineligible tax credits linked to homeownership

Then-Liberal leader Andrew Wilkinson looks on as MLA Shirley Bond answers questions during a press conference at Legislature in Victoria. (Chad Hipolito / THE CANADIAN PRESS)
B.C. Liberal party to choose next leader in February 2022

Candidates have until Nov. 30 to declare whether they are running

Most Read