Connie Davis received the Citizen of the Year award for her continued involvement as a volunteer in the community. For the past 12 years

Davis named Citizen of the Year

A lifetime of involvement, including a dozen years with the Fall Fair, earned Connie Davis the title of Summerland’s Citizen of the Year.

A lifetime of community involvement, including a dozen years with the Summerland Fall Fair, earned Connie Davis the title of Summerland’s Citizen of the Year on Saturday evening.

The award was presented at the 74th annual Summerland Business and Community Excellence Awards at the Waterfront Resort.

As the president of the Summerland Fall Fair, Davis works with volunteers from eight to 92 years of age to organize and run the agricultural fair each September.

“It’s Summerland pouring out its heart,” she said of the festival.

In addition to her work with the Fall Fair, Davis also is a member of the Summerland Alliance Church and volunteers her time there.

“I think it’s just my outright love for Summerland,” she said of her community involvement. “Summerland’s given so much to me.”

Other nominees for the award were Connie Denesiuk and Sharon Stone.

A total of 19 awards were presented at the gala.

Stone received the Community Cultural Development Award.

Natalie Coverchuk and Stef Fratino received the Residential Light Up Award.

Michelle Stefan received the Rotary Vocational Award. For 10 years, she had been in charge of programs at the Summerland Asset Development Initiative.

Anita Perry, a music teacher and composer, received the Arts Appreciation Award.

Kim Lawton of DogLeg Marketing and Business Solutions was honoured as the Home Based Business of the Year.

The other nominee was Elizabeth Wrobel of Elizabeth Wrobel Photography.Sia Tavakoli of Summerland Motel was named Employee of the Year. Other nominees were Chef Paul Cecconi, Mikkie Felker, Sue Kline, Colleen Mah, Sue May and Darlene Reimche.

Dr. Barrie Hume and Dr. Gary Karner of Summerland Animal Clinic received the Employer of the Year award. John and Karen Lathey of Summerland Motel were also nominated.

The Retailer of the Year award went to SASS Boutique. Country Corner Supplies was also nominated.

Windmil Garden Centre and Apple Barn received the Agriculture/Viticulture Excellence Award. Okanagan Crush Pad was also nominated.

The Professional Service Award went to Pamela Felker of Infinite Beauty. Other nominees were Mike Porter of BMO Bank of Montreal and Dan Macor of Mortgage Alliance Okanagan.

Ripley Stainless was named Manufacturer/Industry of the Year.

The Tourism and Hospitality Excellence Award went to Claire Sear, who was instrumental in organizing the wine tour in conjunction with the Festival of Lights in November. Local Lounge and Grille was also nominated.

Emily Chartrand was named Youth of the Year. Jenna Woldenga was also nominated.

CrossFit South Okanagan received the Sports Excellence Award. Lakeshore Racquets Club was also nominated.

Faith Rebekah Lodge was given the Community Spirit Award. Other nominees were Connie Davis and Wendy Rodocker.

Rylan Hernberg was named Volunteer of the Year. Other nominees were Doreen Bargholz, Darlene Forsdick and the Summerland Red Cross Depot.

Jamie Ohmenzetter and Jason Embree of Good Omens Coffee House received the Business Excellence Award. Brent Hayter of CrossFit South Okanagan and Dale Belvedere of Sunshine Valley Home Health Services were also nominated.

The Rotary Club received the Mayor’s Award of Excellence.